No matter how small a car accident may seem, it’s still a traumatic event that leaves you shaken. If you are involved in an auto accident, you need to be aware of your legal rights, including how long to file an auto claim in Florida after the accident.
How long do I have to file auto claim in Florida after an accident?
Following an accident, there are several steps you need to take. This includes having to file auto claim in Florida before the statute of limitations is up. Each state determines the file deadline date; otherwise, you won’t receive any benefits at all. The filing limit also depends on whether it resulted in death or injury.
- If anyone was hurt in the crash, you have up to four years from the incident date to file an auto claim in Florida.
- If the accident results in a death, the involved parties only have two years from the date of the person’s death if the date is different than the date of the accident.
- When filing against someone who works for the State of Florida, city, county, or municipality, then you have three years to give notice and four to file.
- If filing a claim against the U.S. government, auto claims must be filed within two years. You are unable to file the lawsuit until a six-month (180 days) investigation period has passed.
- When filing against an uninsured motorist, you have five years.
Anything filed after the deadline date can be denied, which is why we recommend filing as soon as possible.
Following an accident
Car accidents are stressful, which leaves room for injuries and damages to go unnoticed until a later time. It’s important to take pictures of the immediate damage to your vehicle and the accident scene. Do not forget to call the police in order to accurately document the car crash in preparation for reporting your auto insurance claim.
Seek treatment right away if you are injured. If you don’t seek medical treatment for car crash-related injuries within 14 days, you lose your right to compensation through your personal injury protection (PIP) insurance. Even though Florida PIP repeal is well underway, as it stands, Florida remains a no-fault auto insurance state, meaning you should use your no-fault benefits.
It is beneficial for you to have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. It protects you from an at-fault driver that does not have insurance or lacks sufficient insurance to cover your injuries.
It’s ideal to begin the claims process as soon as possible because the longer you wait, the more difficult it may be to collect pertinent evidence or eyewitness accounts of the car accident. When you file earlier versus later, you are also more likely to have a positive outcome.
Speak with a professional, today.
The claims filing process is confusing and complicated. It’s important to speak with a professional regarding the time you have to file an auto claim in Florida. Give yourself plenty of time to prepare your claim. An expert will work with you to ensure you take the necessary steps and file your paperwork on time to settle your auto claim within the appropriate time frame.