Any person found driving without insurance in Florida faces several repercussions. The No-Fault Law requires Florida vehicle owners to carry auto insurance. Before you can register your vehicle and obtain license plates in the state of Florida, you must have vehicle insurance in place and you must continue to have it until the registration period ends.
The minimum required by the state for property damage liability (PDL) is $10,000 and for personal injury protection (PIP) is $10,000. Additionally, if you’re ever in an accident that inflicts any range of bodily harm on others, you will need to purchase a minimum of $10,000 per person Bodily Injury (BI) and $20,000 per accident.
Don’t Get Caught Driving Without Insurance in Florida
If you plan to end your car insurance plan, then you must surrender your vehicle plates prior to the policy expiration date. If you get caught driving without insurance in Florida, the consequences can be drastic.
The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) can revoke your vehicle tags, registration, and driver’s license with a suspension up to three years or until you purchase a new auto insurance policy. Reinstatement fees range from $150 to $500 for driving without insurance in Florida.
If your car insurance policy lapses, your Florida auto insurance carrier is required to notify the Florida DHSMV of your lapse in coverage. You’ll receive a pending suspension in the mail that gives you the chance to provide proof of coverage by a specific date. Check out this list of fines and penalties associated with being caught driving without insurance in Florida.
- First Offense – $150 reinstatement fee. If proof of insurance is not provided in time then your license and registration could be suspended for up to three years.
- Second Offense – $250 reinstatement fee if a lapse of coverage occurs within three years of the first offense. Your license and registration will be suspended for up to three years unless insurance is provided by the required date.
- Subsequent Offenses – $500 reinstatement fee each time a lapse in coverage occurs within three years of the first offense. If proof of insurance is not provided by the required date, then your license and registration will be suspended up to three years.
Accidents Without Insurance
If you’re driving without insurance in Florida and get into an accident and are found at fault, you will be unable to cover the other driver’s bodily injuries or property damage. You could lose your driver’s license until you pay for the cost of the damages. Drivers found at fault for hurting or killing someone will be required to obtain an SR22 Certificate. This requires the drivers to purchase additional coverage higher than the minimum coverage because the driver is considered to be a higher risk.
Don’t Drive Without Insurance
It’s simply not worth the gamble of possibly being caught driving without insurance in Florida. There are many tips for finding cheap car insurance in Miami and throughout the rest of the state. If you don’t have insurance, don’t wait—get your auto insurance quote, today!