It should come as no surprise that the state law says that residents must buy car insurance that meets the Florida minimum auto insurance requirements. It has to include minimum coverage for Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) auto insurance. Thankfully, Florida has some of the lowest auto insurance coverage minimums, so let’s get right into it.
Learn About the Florida Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
Since Florida is a No-Fault state, your auto insurance will cover your medical expenses up to the limit of your policy if you’re in an accident—no matter who was at fault. Although, it’s beneficial to be prepared with more than the minimum.
The Florida minimum auto insurance requirements are as follows:
Personal Injury Protection
$10,000 for PIP insurance goes toward the coverage of your share of any medical expenses or income loss as a result of the auto accident. It also covers the following:
- Your child and household members
- Your child if he or she is riding on a school bus
- If you are involved in an auto accident while riding a bike or walking
- Passengers riding in your vehicle at the time of the accident, who don’t have PIP insurance and don’t own a vehicle
- Anyone riding in your vehicle that has his or her own PIP insurance will be covered by his or her policy if you get into an accident. It’s the same if you were riding in someone else’s vehicle. You’re covered by your PIP insurance in the event of an accident.
Property Damage Liability
The Florida minimum auto insurance requirements for PDL are $10,000 in coverage. PDL insurance goes toward the damages caused to someone else’s property in the event of a car accident. For example, if you hit a person’s home or a building, then PDL insurance would cover the damages caused by your car.
What Happens if I Don’t Have Current Auto Insurance?
You must maintain the Florida minimum auto insurance requirements if you wish to drive legally in the state. The failure to carry current car insurance will result in the suspension of your driver’s license, registration, and plates until you provide the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) with valid proof of your current car insurance policy.
It also results in a hefty reinstatement fee that increases with each offense:
- $150 for the first offense
- $250 for the second offense
- $500 for each offense after
If you provide proof of auto insurance to the DHSMV prior to the date of suspension, you will not face any penalties. Or, if you no longer own the vehicle, then you can surrender the plates to your local Florida DMV.
Obtain Auto Coverage, Today
If you’ve been in an accident or have received certain traffic violation convictions, you may have to purchase more than the Florida minimum auto insurance requirements. E&L Insurance auto specialists will help you find the best auto coverage that fits your needs. Contact us to obtain your free auto insurance quote, today!